Frontier League


Bolts split doubleheader

Bolts 5, 3 Freedom 4, 4

FLORENCE, KY – The ThunderBolts split a pair of nail-biters in a doubleheader at UCMC Stadium Wednesday night. They beat the Florence Freedom 5-4 in game one but dropped game two 4-3.

Windy City took a 5-0 lead in the first ballgame. They scored three in the second to open the scoring. With the bases loaded and one out, Jayce Ray drove in two on a single and Evan Button singled home a run later in the inning.

An Andrew Brauer RBI base hit in the third made it 4-0 and Brauer drove in another run in the fifth on a bases loaded walk.

The Freedom fought back with four runs in the fifth on five straight hits. Pablo Bermudez, Junior Arrojo and Nick Stein had the RBI hits in the rally. They left the tying run at second base, though and did not score again.

Jessie Snodgrass (3-0) pitched a scoreless 1.2 innings for the win and Michael Oros (5-4) took the loss. Michael Click earned his 20th save.

Game two started well for the Bolts as well when they scored twice in the first. Evan Button singled and Mike Torres walked before Ryan Soares reached on a single and an error that scored two runs.

Florence answered with three in the bottom of the first. Jeremy Hamilton had an RBI single and Jacob Tanis hit a two-run homer to give the Freedom their first lead of the night.

An Arrojo double and Bermudez single in the third made it 4-2.

The Bolts got their last run in the fourth inning on Doug Joyce’s third home run of the year, making it 4-3.

The ThunderBolts would threaten in the seventh, putting the tying run at third base but Jorge Marban held on for his 20th save.

Casey Henn (3-0) picked up the win and Markus Solbach (3-1) took the loss.

The ThunderBolts will wrap up their series with the Freedom on Thursday night with Matt Wickswat (5-10, 4.72) on the mound. The Bolts will enter the night one game under .500 and 5.5 games out of the playoffs pending Southern Illinois’s result. Florence, who sit 1.5 games out will start Chuck Weaver (3-1, 3.70). The game begins at 5:35 and the broadcast can be found on

Game One Box Score

Game Two Box Score

Search Archive »